Reporting Child Abuse
In the State of Texas, the law requires that ANYONE “having cause to believe that a child’s physical, mental health or welfare has been or may be adversely affected by abuse or neglect” MUST report the cause immediately. Failure to report child abuse is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days and/or a fine of up to $2000. – Texas Family Code, Chapter 261
You can make a report by calling 1-800-252-5400
or you can make a report on-line at www.txabusehotline.org
If you feel that a child is in immediate danger, call 911.